Some Good News

So I have a job! YAY!
It involves writing! DOUBLE YAY!

I also have good news in the medical front and I should be back to CrossFit soon (I’ve been out for a week with lady issues. Let’s not talk about it) and I’m looking forward to hitting the rubber. 

I also have good news on the knitting front. I was bored a couple weeks ago and started cleaning up the apartment. I was getting rid of a lot and sorting things, filing paperwork away and making things pretty in the place I call home. My last bit of cleaning was the yarn. There’s yarn everywhere in the apartment: In buckets, baskets, bowls and even in corners. It’s ridiculous. So I pulled out all six containers for my yarn and started sorting before realizing that it all wouldn’t fit in the six containers. 

As long as I have been a knitter, my stash has never gotten larger than those six boxes. I texted Boyfriend. “Know anyone having a baby or getting married any time soon?”

“Actually… four people” he replied. 

I had piles of yarn in not-so-various colors so I decided to split things up. I already had tons of red over in one corner in a worsted weight so I put them in a bag with a few skeins of brown. I tossed the orange and cream together, the purple and grey and the black and blue. When I put them all together, I had more than blanket quantity of all the colors of purples, blues oranges, reds, cream and greys that I could have asked for. I decided ombre would be a perfect solution. 

So I packed all the yarn into three empty bins and carried the red over to the couch and cast on 600 stitches with a size 13 needle and the yarn held double. Decreasing six times, every 100 stitches, I would have a really nice lap blanket or a crib blanket for some couple in the future. 

The first wedding is within the next couple months. Boyfriend is attending the Bachelor party of his old college friend and I’m knitting the brown-into-red blanket. So far I’m up to the second-to-last color but I’m anticipating it’ll work perfectly and I won’t have any yarn left over. 

CrossFit is…well… I miss it. They did Whitten last week Friday, the day after I had some abnormal cells removed and I wasn’t in a position to attend. I was sad because I wanted to beat that WOD after it beat me last year. I was OK missing it because I remember it beating me. It is, to this day, the only WOD I’ve ever cried through. I’ll be going back to the box tomorrow, hopefully. It’s been more than a week as of tonight so I’m hoping it won’t be too brutal. 

Now that I have my lunch breaks and I’m happy to be writing again, I think I’ll blog more often. My half hour is up, though. I hope you’re all enjoying this weather! I don’t know about you but WODding AND knitting are way better when it’s 65 and sunny!

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on June 18, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

