Seriously?

I’m sorry to my readers for this is a serious RANT piece.

Naysayers are everywhere and yet I haven’t seen one in a good long while, if ever, against Paleo.

Until Today.

Murphy sent me a link to a post by celebrity writer/blogger Kimberly Snyder (The link has been removed on the Kimberly Snyder website and auto-redirects to some kale chip demo. meh.  I’m not sorry). I’m almost sorry I’m giving her the views on her website. Her ‘beauty detox’ sounds like a load of dookie and I can’t even believe she thinks she’s a credible source of dietary instruction.

I read this article and grew more and more frustrated at the lack of credible information in said article. Sweet potatoes are allowed in Paleo, Fruit isn’t, Paleo doesn’t have celebrity sponsors or frozen meals or addition of grains and totally processed foods in their crap bin of the frozen food section. Seriously?

I couldn’t help myself from posting the below comment after I saw all the people saying ‘thank you for your post Kimberly!’ and ‘you’re so insightful, I’m so glad I didn’t fall into the trap of the fad diets like this Paleo-bunk!’

So I spent a few minutes and wrote this little ditty.

FAT IS YOUR FRIEND, PEOPLE!

I’ve been Paleo since May of last year and I have been steadily losing weight ever since thanks to the fact that I’ve turned my body into a fat-burning, muscle-building machine. I eat eggs and bacon regularly and split my plate in half of meat and vegetables. I only very occasionally allow fruit as the diet calls for due to the sugar levels in most fruit. I eat lean meats, nuts and root vegetables that are farm fresh, grass fed and NATURALLY occur in the world. If it came from the ground or walked on the ground, I allow it. I have lost 50 pounds, at least 15% body fat and gained multiple pounds of muscle thanks to using Paleo in tandem with CrossFit. I have boundless energy that I didn’t have before starting Paleo and my body is naturally beautiful, my skin is flawless and my PCOS is gone all thanks to Paleo.

The people you’re talking about who gorge themselves on as much food as they want are either training for extreme weight lifting or they’re trying to GAIN weight in the form of muscle. Look at Rich Froning Jr. or Chris Spealler. They eat MORE during the day so they gain muscle to help in their CrossFitting. Average Paleans will also employ portion control, rather than just being extreme with their protein as you’re misleading your readers to believe.

Paleo begins with removing all grains, dairy and legumes, whereas Atkins starts with nothing but protein for weeks and then weans you onto fruits, vegetables and grains, making it an inconceivable diet that will not work or last long. Paleo has lasting qualities in that you can eat chocolate (the darker the better!) and coconut and almond milk offer more calcium and vitamins than dairy milk. Sweet potatoes are allowed and have better nutritional value than white potatoes. Those people who think that eggs will raise your cholesterol just haven’t realized how good they are for you once you cut out all that crap that’s weighing you down.

My 63 year-old mother began Paleo after the urging of my brother and me and she incorporated eggs and bacon three times a week as well as being strict Paleo and she lost 11 pounds in a matter of 6 weeks. Her cholesterol and blood pressure are returning to normal for the first time in decades and she has Paleo and FAT to thank for it. She is boosting her metabolism by fueling her body with nothing but what she’s meant to be eating. Grains and carbs were suffocating her body and she’s finally feeling lighter, sleeping better at night and feeling better overall.

How dare you call something as ingenious as Paleo a ‘fad diet’. I can honestly tell you that Paleo is not going anywhere, nor does it need celebrity sponsors to support it in commercials. Just ask the CrossFit community. EAT <b>CLEAN</b>, TRAIN DIRTY.

I’m still a little frustrated, but I’m now seeing more and more people on the Paleo side of things, who see the light, if you will.

I just wanted to post this here in case my comment didn’t make it to the light of the comment board for too much longer.

 

Please note: Inflammatory comments with false information will not be posted on this blog. I know what I’m talking about, otherwise I wouldn’t have this blog. If you don’t know what you’re talking about, I’m not going to allow you to be a troll. I also have your IP Address when you post. Please practice safe Internet. Thank you

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Primal and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at ashansen1015@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on March 14, 2013, in CrossFit, Paleo, RANT and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. NOTE From Amanda: I’m going to allow this comment because it’s been long enough that I don’t believe people are looking at this post all that closely and, quite honestly, I don’t care anymore. There are so many people, my friends included, that believe I’m killing myself with bacon, but some people just don’t understand what they’re talking about. I truly believe that Paleans know what they’re doing and what they’re putting into their body and it’s so much better than any of the diets out there. One day there will be a rebuttal, but until then, I hope you all enjoy this comment. I know I did.

    “Fat is your friend” – NO

    Fat is poison to the body’s ecosystem in quantities over 10% of total calorie consumption.
    Why? Because it lines cell walls and inhibits the absorption of carbohydrates. The fat you eat is the fat you wear! Why do you think they call it fat? Fat is absorbed really slowly, making you feel lethargic and sluggish. The reason you think grains were “suffocating” her body is because she was having a high fat diet and eating a lot of carbs too! You’re going to kill yourself eating so much fat, and even worse, saturated fat!

    You starve your body of carbohydrates (like this diet does) and your body turns protein into carbohydrates and releases harmful ketones as a result. These are toxic to your body. Your body wants carbohydrates because every single one of your 18 trillion cells in your body runs on carbohydrates! The brain runs exclusively on glucose!

    A diet low in Carbohydrates in naturally higher in fat, protein never really goes above 20% of total calories. Doesn’t matter if it’s ‘good fat’ or ‘bad fat’ – fat is fat, although good fat should be the only fat consumed from nuts, seeds and avocado. None of the saturated fat found in animal products (like meat, like this diet promotes).

    People blame sugar for diabetes, when it is really fat. When the fat lines our cell walls, the sugar can’t get through and feed our cells like it’s meant to do. Naturally, with low fat in the body, the sugar would be used efficiently. But because the sugar now has to find a place to go, it stays in the body for longer and your pancreas starts to over-work to balance your bodys blood sugar; Insulin balances go out and look, diabetes.

    Just because you lost weight on the Paleo diet does not at all make it healthy. It is also unhealthy to lose weight that fast and can run risks with your heart. You might look good on the outside, but you’re consuming cholesterol, saturated fats and acidic/inflammatory animal proteins regardless. Grass fed or not, animal products are not suitable for the human body. Making our pH acidic by eating them creates an environment where cancer can breed. Does it not make sense that all fruits and vegetables balance our bodies pH, wherein the body can heal itself and run properly?

    Don’t even get me started on the digestion of animal products and the food combining issues this diet presents.

    I eat a High Carb, Raw Vegan diet and I guarantee that I feel better and my body performs better than anyone on Paleo. My body heals itself super quick, I always have energy and am always satisfied. My digestion is beyond excellent, never in the bathroom for more than a minute.

  2. I started eating paleo 2 years ago when I was diagnosed with diabetes (at age 28!). I just updated my blog with my cholesterol numbers, but in a nutshell they’ve never been better. Haven’t gotten into crossfit yet…but who knows! http://www.seetheconnection.com

  3. Awesome story, thanks for sharing Jeff! I’ve added your blog to my reader so I can keep up on your bacon-eating-awesomness!

Leave a Reply

