Giving Thanks

Did you hear the groans this morning? Or the cracks of joints as we went down the stairs? That’d be both Boyfriend and I sore as hell after WODding on Wednesday and Thanksgiving morning. What were we thinking?

Let’s go back a couple days:

Wednesday we got out of work a little early but I stayed until 3:30 anyway to fill in a few hours that I’d be missing from the holiday. I went to the 4:30 class and cringed hardcore when I saw the WOD:

EMOTM 15:
15 Tuck Jumps
12 Hand-Release push ups
3 Snatches

Your final score was the weight of the snatch. You could go down in weight, but not up.

I started with a 55 pound snatch, got through two and hit myself in the head on the third. I dropped the two 10s and stuck with the bare 35 pound bar. meh. The 15 minutes were freaking interminable. I hated every ever-loving second of the freaking thing. My back hurt from not having the bumpers so I went down too far with the snatch and my back was probably rounded and I was rushing the whole thing so my low back was angry. A few twists and snaps and it feels better.

Anyway– so after the WOD, I raced home, picked up some stuff, packed clothes for the WOD the next morning, went to the store and then to Boyfriends for the night.

We woke up, I sipped at some coffee, drank some water and we headed to the WOD at CrossFit Fort Atkinson: Boyfriend’s box. They were doing a special team WOD and were more than welcoming to have a guest, so Boyfriend brought me with.

Warm up? Just a nice little half-mile run. In the mild-cold wind. On terrain. Mahhhhh.
Then some lunges and yoga poses. Better.

Then we got put into groups for the team WOD. Ready for this?

Teams of 7:

Farmer/Buddy carry 400m, every person must be carried and/or carry at least once.
25 rope climbs, all other teammates hold plank position
140 pull ups, all other teammates hold wall sit
Every team member rows 400m while all other teammates do air squats
Wall-ball-into-tire-opening. Every time you miss, every team member does three burpees.
Every teammate drinks a beer.

Right away we were off to a beautiful start. The guy who tried picking me up for the buddy carry tried hiking me up but he went down too far and I went up too high and I took a wonderful dive on top of him and he was bloody afterward. My hands were scraped, which affected my pull ups. The worst was holding the positions while teammates worked. I did manage to get 20 pull ups and 9 up-downs to equal 3 pull ups and I kept up with the rest of the team pretty well, in my opinion.

My legs were still twitchy as we left and headed home to clean up and grab foodstuffs to head to Mom’s for thanksgiving. We had a 14 pound bird smelling up mom’s house and it smelled amazing all day. We finally had Thanksgiving Dinner around 3 p.m. and it was all very delicious. I was more concerned with spending time with Mom and Boyfriend than taking pictures, so I’ll take pictures of leftovers at some point and talk about them later. But know they were really good.

Dessert came out pretty good, but it needs some finessing for the future. I’m not terribly happy with it, but goddamn is almond butter good.

Leftovers are also the best thing in the world. Cranberry sauce on turkey. LOVE. Lots of love for those two things. Again, pictures to come later.

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on November 23, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

