Eva

I’m sure I’ll have to meet her again. And I don’t know that I’ll want to.

She was cruel. She was sadistic. She had a TIME CAP. She was horrible. She took a lot of determination to get through. She required me to scale. And really get in my own head to keep pushing myself.

So now that you’re so looking forward to doing this WOD on your own: here she is:

“EVA”
5 rounds for time:
800m run
30 KB swings (75/55)
30 pull ups

Did you just shit yourself? Yeah I threw up a little in my mouth when I saw it on the whiteboard. We were told on Facebook to be prepared for multi-modal workout. I figured we’d be doing Murph or something. I wasn’t ready for this. I walked by to sign in and Tyler asked me how I felt about it and I told him pretty nervous. He then told me to scale the running to a 400m run as I’d be able to actually finish then. I grabbed the last bell under 35 lbs, which was an 18ish pounder. It would be easy but I knew the rest would be tough.

I wrapped my cowl around me, stuck my ipod in my ears and headed on the run, much slower than everyone else, not that I cared. Motion City Soundtrack, Anberlin, Alkaline Trio and Modest Mouse blared in my ears so I focused on the beat of the music and my breathing and just kept moving. I came back into the gym with a 2:42 run, more than 45 seconds faster than my previously timed 400m run. It was a great way to start.

KB swings over, I approached the bar and my black band. Did I mention I only got banded pull ups a week and a half ago? And the most I had done previously was 26 in a WOD? Yeah… I’m a little nervous, to say the least. I narrowed my grip to use my biceps more and stayed as strict as possible while paying attention to my grip so I wouldn’t fall off the bar– it’s a fear of mine.

The second run was a little harder as I powered through the pull ups. I got a cramp in my side and had to walk for about 50 feet, but quickly started running again, unwilling to puss out and walk a round. It would kill my time otherwise.

I started kipping with the band. It was hard– The free foot kipped while I used my arms a lot more. It killed my grip and my shoulders. I did sets of five… then sets of three… then sets of two. Every time I’d get to five I’d step back on the box and rest for five breaths and pick up where I left off.

At 45 minutes, the time cap set on us, I had five pull ups left. I finished with a time of 45:27. I collapsed on the floor, created a sweat angel and found my fingers were numb. Gripping the steering wheel on the way home was harder than it should have been. Hell, even gripping my phone was tough. Eventually the feeling came back in my fingers and I managed to make it up the stairs to my bed an hour and a half earlier than I usually do.

The next morning, showering proved to be the most painful experience ever. I couldn’t wash my hair without my hands hurting and my shoulders screaming at me in resistance. I was sore all day. And the next day. I finally felt relief by Saturday.

The big thing I took from Eva is that determination with finishing a WOD. It wasn’t about finishing RXed because there was no way I could do a 55 pound kettlebell swing yet, but it was about knowing I was willing and able to actually finishing near the timecap and be able to do all the running unbroken and all the pull ups banded and having that determination to not give up or walk out of the gym before the WOD even started. It was about not being afraid my hands would rip, or that I couldn’t do the pull ups. It was pure determination that my body has gone through these changes and has become so much stronger and leaner and it’s about time I finally see results.

Wednesday night I did 150 pull ups. And I ran over a mile. And I didn’t give up. I didn’t stop. I showed up. I endured and I am better for it. And that’s what matters.

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on November 19, 2012, in CrossFit, Heavy Lifting, Leave Your Ego at the Door and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

