“Don’t Spoil My Pie, Please”

Excuse me while I pick my jaw off the floor.

Boyfriend texts me this after I asked his opinion of Pumpkin Cheesecake from PaleOMG or pumpkin pie made paleo– the recipe being adapted from Mom’s Pumpkin Pie recipe.

Now, I have made Mom’s pumpkin pie before and it’s delicious. I have not adapted her recipe and tried to make it yet, mostly because the LuRong challenge is still going on and I can’t eat baking powder or soda, or raw honey, or well… ANYTHING GOOD. I hate this stupid challenge and can’t wait until Saturday. I MISS MY OVEN!!!!

Anyway– I was planning on taking my day off on Saturday– my first one in about a month, mind you, and go shopping, get a wax, buy groceries, bake delicious things in my oven that I have missed so much over the last two months and stop off at Mom’s and get the recipe to make this pie on Sunday after work.

So I decided to be all dramatic with Boyfriend. The conversation went as followed:

Me: With picture of PaleOMG cheesecake: Pumpkin cheesecake or pie? Either way they’re paleo and I found my crust.

BF: Cheesecake: Don’t spoil my pie, please.

Me: … :-0
I can’t believe you just said that!

BF: Lol.

Me: (5 minutes later) I’m blogging about this. I’m still in shock.

BF: hahaha. I’m sure you will do an excellent job at converting a pumpkin pie… just not for Thanksgiving!

Me: I. Am. Appalled. You don’t think paleo pumpkin pie will be as good, if not better, than regular FATTY pumpkin pie?

BF: I said no such thing…

Me: I’ll prove to you just how amazing pumpkin paleo pie is on Sunday. So there. And you’ll be begging for it for Thanksgiving. But I won’t ruin your previous pie for you. Oh no.

It’s at this point in the conversation where I imagine I stomp one foot, cross my arms, mutter a defiant ‘hmph’ and tip my nose in the air. (Have I mentioned I’ve had a lot of really strong coffee today?) He then rolls his eyes, stifles a snort of laughter and goes back to work. We all know this is exactly how it would have happened in real life, too. We’re a. that predictable and b. that disgustingly cute.

I really couldn’t care less what kind of dessert I make, and this cheesecake sounds delicious so I’m planning on making it anyway. I just needed a giggle and I got it.

So anyway.

Pumpkin cheesecake. Mom, the truly non-paleo of our bunch (she claims she simply can’t go on without carbs), won’t know what hit her. This will be an awesome ending to our 100% Paleo 80% of the time Thanksgiving dinner. What’s on the docket you ask?

  • A 10 freaking pound  turkey. An actual turkey. Do you know how long it’s been since I had an actual turkey with Thanksgiving dinner? Prior years it’s always been me and Mom so it’s been a breast, or a Cornish Hen (Don’t judge me.) so we’re doing a turkey. Holy crap.
  • Green bean casserole. It’s the 20% of non-paleo to our dinner. I can’t live a year without it. It’s my crack. I have to have those French Fried onions. Those tiny little artificial food bastards taste so good.
  • Sweet Potatoes. I haven’t quite decided how to best prepare them. I might just do them with sme marmalade and pumpkin pie seasonings, without the marshmallows, or I can mash them… or do something else. I’m not totally sure yet.
  • Cranberry sauce. Fresh cranberries in apple cider with a squeeze of agave nectar. Good god.
  • Mom is making gravy. I don’t eat gravy. Gravy isn’t Paleo.
  • The cheesecake. I might have to make concessions as coconut butter might be hard to find, but almond butter is sitting in my cupboard. We’ll see what happens.

As Bob as my witness, the pie will be amazing. And my oven and I will be reunited once more in a harmonious love that no one else has ever known before.

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on November 15, 2012, in Paleo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. withlovedeidrelee

    I saw that recipe on PaleOMG and I knew I had to make it!! It looks divine, Very cute post! Can’t wait to hear what the BF thinks of the cheesecake 🙂 mine won’t go anywhere near dessert!

  2. Clever narrative! I’m sitting here chuckling, reading and thinking about what dessert I’ll be making as I try to stay mainly Paleo myself. Here’s a pumpkin pie recipe that came highly recommended to me,,,
    http://www.againstallgrain.com/2011/11/22/grain-free-and-dairy-free-pumpkin-pie/
    Maybe it can help you adapt your mom’s recipe…or maybe you’ll just want to try it as is.

    Have a Happy, Healthy Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

