In Preparation

November 17 is coming soon which means the Lurong Paleo challenge will be over and I can consume baked goods again which I’m extremely excited about so I’m planning heartily and trying to figure out a way to contain my desire to bake all the things before the next 12 days goes by.

I continue to put clothing on and find that it’s all just far too big. My chest has shrunk so nothing fits on top really, and my new jeans are already not fitting. It’s kind of scary how many inches I’m losing/have lost, but then I realize how much I really needed to lose so I’m able to justify it for myself. If only I had the funds to actually supplement my wardrobe without having to file bankruptcy…
So here’s what I love about baking:
I can take this recipe, used from Vanilla Garlic, who got it from Aida Mollencamp, and I can change it into something paleo and delicious.

Coffee Bean Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes about 32 cookies

2 1/4 3 cups Almond flour (Or 2 cups Almond flour and 1 cup coconut flour)
1/3 cup finely ground coffee beans
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature (Strict? Sub out 1/2 cup Coconut oil and 1/2 cup raw honey, melted)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups chocolate chips (dark, please)

Note: These cookies will be DENSE! Very very dense. They won’t lay out the way traditional cookies will but they’ll mostly keep their round shape. If you want them to lay down more, add a little more raw honey to moisten the batter up. They’re just as good in their round form, though!


1. Preheat the oven to 325F and line your cookie sheets with parchment paper. Combine the flour, coffee, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and whisk to aerate; set aside.

2. Place the butter(OR oil/honey), eggs and vanilla in the bowl of a stand mixer and beat the tar out of it for about 3 minutes, making sure to scrape the bottom and sides of the bowl halfway through.

3. Add the flour mixture to the wet mixture and mix until it just comes together. Stir in the chocolate chips and drop 2 tablespoon-sized mounds of dough on the trays, 2 inches apart.

4. Bake for 12-15 minutes. Cool on racks. Eat and serve to loves ones or just caffeinate yourself crazy hard like the addict you know you are.

See how easy that was? And I’m willing to bet you a dollar that they taste delicious… though I wouldn’t really be able to tell you until the 17th.

The cool thing about changing a generic recipe to paleo is that there are paleo substitutes built into the diet. No butter? Coconut oil. No flour? Almond meal/flour. No sugar? NO PROBLEM. These babies are sweet enough with the almonds and chocolate that they don’t need the additional sugar. People haven’t quite realized that if they just didn’t use AP Flour and made the switch to almond or coconut flour, they’d have a lot more flavor and they’d be able to cut out all the crap sugar. Though, you could go with stevia or agave nectar if you really wanted to keep that sugar. The sugar in the cookies will make it mold faster whereas the paleo cookies sans sugar will actually get softer as they sit, making them better day after day. I’m salivating at the thought.

What’s nice about these cookies is that they don’t have an abundance of chocolate and extras, but the coffee will add a little extra bite to the point where it’ll taste a bit like a chocolate covered espresso bean. It’ll be a nice lift for those mornings where we don’t want to wake up and Boyfriend can eat 12 before work and vibrate through his Saturday mornings when he has to wake up at 3 a.m..

Other things on my baking list include banana bread (there’s about 7 bananas in the freezer as I write this), almond bread, chocolate in general, frozen yogurt, paleo pizza crust and the four frozen pizzas in my freezer that I can eat without massive shame when it’s 9 p.m. and I’m exhausted and have no desire to try to make a real meal when the pizza takes 15 minutes to cook and only tastes mildly like crap.

Now it’s time to go to the box and sweat and then go home and try not to eat said frozen pizza.

Salad instead of pizza. Blergh.

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on November 5, 2012, in Paleo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

