20 Minutes

That’s how long I have to write this post before I have next to no time to proof a giant document and send it to the printers. Did I mention we received it on my first day and today is my FOURTH day? Yeah. That’s not a whole lot of time to proof things… Welcome to the retail world, Manda!

Last night I didn’t make it home until almost 9 p.m.. I wanted to get to the box but the 6:30 class was cancelled, then back on, but I was already too far away to make it in time and I’ll be damned if I’m going to do 10 burpees for every minute late.

I went to DSW for a pair of boots as I was sick of the shoes I had on– the heels were ruined and I was getting shin splints from them. Not cool. I found a pair on clearance and grabbed a pair of leggings a size smaller than I bought last year. Queue applause and cheers.

I then remembered I told mom I’d go to her place to feed the kitties and pick up some money as she’s helping me, for hopefully the last time, to bail me out of financial ruin. It was also trick or treat in town so I had to get the candy on the stoop. The cats nearly gnawed my ankles off and the kids took handfuls of candy and talked to mom for about 10 minutes before heading home.

Stock in pot. Sausage in stock Veggies chopped. Stop tearing from onions. Garlic smashed. Kitchen is an effing disaster. Where the hell is my ladle? UP AT THE CABIN, THAT’S WHERE!!!!! Dammit now I have to buy a new ladle.

(10 minutes left)

The soup came together in about a half hour and I had to improvise severely to get it all blended together. I was eating dinner at 10 p.m. and I was in my bedroom finding clothes for the next day by 11.

I was… I’d love to say upset to say… but I’m not really all that upset about it– My dresses no longer fit.
At all. I should have anticipated this because my shoes no longer fit as my feet have shrunk in the process of losing 40 pounds in a summer. I started the process with about 10-14 dresses. I now have about 4, if you don’t count the many kimono dresses I own, which aren’t work-appropriate. Even my favorite little black dress that made me look super skinny now makes me look fat because it doesn’t fit. It hit the goodwill pile with a sad look on my face.

Today I’m wearing a drapey dress with a slip under that had to be clipped to avoid baggage and so it wouldn’t slip down to the point where my bright orange bra would be hanging out the top. It’s a purchase I made from Target last year along with two others of the same style, different patterns. The slips all have to be taken in but the outer bits all fit fine, as they cinch in at the waist. It’s my saving grace, I tell ya. I put on my boots and brand new leggings and headed out the door in a frenzy this morning.

I guess I know what my first paycheck is going toward.

No crossfit last night. The baby was born though! Baby Girl Avelyn Grace was born a little after 6 a.m. today and I can’t wait to meet her and see her in her woollens.

The soup is delicious, not that I can take the time to savor it.

2 minutes to spare and I’m back to work! Have a great day, all!

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on November 1, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

