Ben…Again…

So CrossFit started again today! I was so excited to get back in the box that I could barely contain myself. I went home around noon for lunch. It was awesome being able to drive home in 10 minutes and be able to eat, watch some TV, lay down for a minute or two and then head back in time for a meeting.

About 2 p.m., I was in a meeting with three loud women, all wearing three individually strong perfumes and we were sitting in an office with the flourescent lights beating down on us. It was not conducive to my brain functioning properly and I got a migraine that sat directly in my neck. I previously had made a Chiropractor appointment so I was looking forward to those gloriously sickening cracks.

I closed my door and did my work quietly today while keeping hydrated with Coconut water, water and Gatorade. My headache was kept at bay while in the quiet and keeping to myself while also stretching my neck out a bit. I longed to be laying down.

The good Chiropractor got a few good cracks out of my neck, noted that my back was doing really well after the cortisone shots but the headaches were probably because of the added pressure from the shots. I’m sure my stress level over the last few months hasn’t helped so I’m hoping more adjustments over the next few weeks and this nice long stressless weekend will be great and relaxing for me.

Mom yelled at me to take it easy at CF tonight. I told her the heaviest weight I’d be lifting is 35 lbs and Tyler won’t be letting me lift more even if my ego gets in the way. Turns out, tonight the heaviest weight we lifted was our own bodies. My back still feels great.

Home meant a GIANT steak, an enormous bunch of grapes and some water. I let the food settle while waiting for 7 p.m. to head out to CrossFit. Tyler checked in with me and asked how my back was and told me it was perfectly fine that I row instead of run. It was an easy-going class until we got to the MetCon. Ben had a quick update for us rowers: Since the runners were actually running 250 meters, we needed to meet the same amount. This, for some reason, didn’t phase me in the thoughts that I could get this WOD done in less than 9 minutes still even though we were adding 100 meters to it.

I got through the first 250 meters fine but found that I had lost my squat form. My legs were shaky from rowing so I need to work on them in the meantime. My shoulders and delts hurt like hell from the night before when I did the 70 push ups with Boyfriend. The Ring Rows were fine. I kept looking at the clock. The Clock became my enemy.

By 7:30 I was just about to finish my last 9 ring rows. I RAN to the rowing machine, sat down, strapped in and started rowing only to find that I was needlessly rowing all-out. It didn’t start logging my meters until I had probably rowed a good 20 meters. /sigh. About 75 meters in I found my arms just didn’t want to pull anymore. I had to stop for a second and let my arms rest. I looked back at the clock and realized I wasn’t going to make a PR. I was pissed and started rowing again, demanding my body to finish. At 9:15 I rowed the last meter and Tyler walked over, gave me a high-five and told me he cares more about my back being healthy than my time when I told him I didn’t beat my old time (his response “You rowed an extra 100 meters…” “…yeah,” I said.”). I walked over as Tyler wrote down times and laid down on the mat, huffing and puffing. I wasn’t happy but I was happy I had finished and I didn’t give up even though my body wanted to.

We went in for the weigh-in and body fat measurements. I knew I had lost weight (and Tyler mentioned I looked thinner) but I didn’t think I had lost any body fat. I look at myself every day so I don’t see the weight loss. So I jumped on the scale and was still at 214 and I was expecting Tyler to say my body fat was still up at 36% but he instead pointed at 33.8%!  I was so excited that I actually reached out and whacked Tyler on his chest. I’m still smack in the middle of the “Above Average” classification but if I keep up the way I’ve been going, I should be down another 2-3 percent by the end of the month, especially if I’m able to keep doing CrossFit this time. My original goal was to get to be about 26-28% Body fat. I’m only a few months from that goal!

So the night ended on a high note. I got a Badger CrossFit t-shirt to wear to The Games this weekend and I’ve got lots of sore muscles to carry around tomorrow. It’s going to be a long day at the office on Tuesday but I’ll break it up with meals at home. Have I mentioned how much I love living so close to home? I get to start packing, Boyfriend won’t be home as he’ll be working late too and we both have affairs to put in order before heading out to the beautiful sunny and sweat-filled town of Carson, CA.

…What knitting should I bring? There’s plane knitting, hotel knitting, waiting in line at the food truck knitting, waiting for the next WOD to start knitting… Or you know, just plane knitting. Still! I need something to knit!

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Primal and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at ashansen1015@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in CrossFit, Paleo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

