Back in the Game!

I’m back! Yay!

Three weeks ago it was my back, last week it was my head. I would love for things to be 100% again! So here’s a quick catch-up.

I got two cortisone shots in my lower back, the second one hurt like hell but my back is feeling MUCH better. I’ll be visiting my Chiropractor much more often in the hopes that he can aid in strengthening my back. I’ve also been doing some planks and minor working out since being off CrossFit to help strengthen my core. I think I’m ready to get back in the box.

Last week was the major heat wave in Wisco and my brain didn’t seem to want to recover from it so I’ve had a migraine since the beginning of the month. I thought it was everything but just a run-of-the-mill Migraine so I even went to the ER on Tuesday for heat exhaustion where they pumped me full of fluids and, when my BP dropped to a ghastly 80/55, they gave me Gatorade and told me to keep drinking it as long as the heat kept up and especially if I was working out. I did as I was told, though I knew Gatorade wasn’t Paleo and it wasn’t really all that good for me since the sodium levels are so high in Gatorade that it counteracted the liquids I was consuming. I drank it anyway, alternating it with water. A couple days ago I bought a case of Vita Coco Coconut Water from GNC and I’ve been drinking that as well since it’s just as good as Gatorade for electrolytes and it has potassium which helps your muscles retain water and keep from cramping up. It’ll be perfect with water while working out this summer.

I finally caved and saw a neurologist on Friday and she put me back on the preventative medication I was on in high school and the headache is tapering away so that’s good! I can finally stand to look at my computer screen without wanting to vomit, so I’m viewing it as a plus. I’ll be heading over to the Chiro again today to get a few good pops in my neck in the hopes that Chiropractic and medications will help the migraines go away faster.

I stepped on the scale last week and stared at the scale in disbelief. I had lost 20 pounds. In four weeks, essentially. I weighed in at the first day of June Elements at a dismal 234 lbs. I knew it wasn’t my best weigh in after having had a ton of food before the workout and I had been consuming water like a camel. I weighed myself in the morning, wearing a sun dress, having nothing in my system only to find that I had lost 20 pounds from Paleo and five classes of CrossFit. I was astonished. Amazed. Completely flabbergasted. I could see losing 20 pounds in six months, and I had done that in the past, but one month?! I was floored. I immediately told Boyfriend and he didn’t know what to say. I did a happy dance on the stairs and went to post my happiness on Facebook. We went to a baseball game with Boyfriend’s parents and I cheated with beer and a brat and an ice cream sandwich(the ice cream froze my headache away for a minute or two) and then we just kept cheating for the rest of the week as the aspect of cooking in 100+ degree heat was so not what we wanted to do that we just ordered Buffalo Wild Wings. Not the WORST cheat, mind you, but still a cheat. I weighed myself again this morning and, after dialing back in for the last day and a half, I’ve neither gained nor lost any weight. I’m amazed. In the past, eating like I used to (non-paleo, that is), I’d have gained five pounds by now. Now my body is so used to burning fat and protein at an accelerated span that I feel like Paleo just got easier to achieve! I don’t need to obsess anymore. I know my body is doing what it’s supposed to be doing.

July 1 started a 30 day challenge through Badger CrossFit where Tyler challenged us to do 50 Push Ups and 50 Sit Ups every day this month. Boyfriend and I did them on the First but the migraine kept me from doing it until last night and Boyfriend was taking care of me so he didn’t do them either. Last night I talked him into it and we did it again. I showed him up by doing 73 sit ups and 70 push ups in the same time it took him to do 50 and 50. It felt so good and the little nagging headache I’d had through the day was gone after we were done thanks to the endorphins and adrenaline.

Tonight is Day 1 of July Elements which means I get to redo Ben!

For anyone who forgot… “Ben” is:
Run(Row) 200m
15-12-9
Squat/Push-Up/Body Row
Run(Row) 200m

When I went to the ER, they gave me a shot of Toradol painkiller in my bum and the injection site still hurts and I don’t want to do any damage to my back so I’m still going to request that I Row instead of Run, which I’m sure Tyler will have no problem with.  This will also give me a chance to compare my time to last month. June 2 I had a time of 9 minutes flat. Tonight I want to peel off at least a minute from that time. I know I can do 10 push ups in 20 seconds as Boyfriend and I do the 50/50 Tabata Style (20 seconds on, 10 seconds off) so I have confidence that I can get it all done in a decent time.

Oh! I also forgot to mention I got tickets to the CrossFit Games!!! Boyfriend and I are flying to Carson, CA. on Thursday to watch the fittest men and women in the world compete! I am so excited and hope to get an Elisabeth Akinwale shirt as she’s my favorite athlete and my inspiration for starting CrossFit. When I saw her Snatch 270 lbs easy… I was sold. Tickets sold out the day I was going to buy them so I had to buy them for an insane amount on eBay but I got tickets and now I’m headed to Carson and I couldn’t be happier.

This was supposed to be a quick catch up? Wow! I’m sorry! Not quick, I guess! Tonight’s dinner before Elements is a giant steak I grilled up yesterday and some grapes. Nothing too extravagant but it’ll fill me up and fuel me for a sweating. Happy Monday, all!

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in CrossFit, Paleo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

