I’m bored

Every morning I wake up and make eggs. Or boyfriend makes eggs. Usually always the same: scrambled with an assortment of spices. Bacon. Peppers and onions. I’ve been eating this for breakfast for a month now and I’m bored stiff of it. My apartment smells like fried bacon every morning (and there is NOTHING wrong with that!) but I’ve grown bored with the constancy of my breakfasts.

So I went online and found some recipes but they require some work to get this ball rolling.

Pumpkin muffins lack the protein needed for breakfast but bacon and leftover protein from dinner the night before could work for this need. Their portability and ease to grab and go with my morning coffee makes it perfect for my late-wake-up-get-dressed-don’t-brush-hair-run-out-door-last-minute lifestyle. Plus I really just want to do some baking. I’m feeling domestic. Lay off me.

Pancakes can easily be made with almond flour, but that also requires work. Again, protein can be added easily. I’m kind of awesome with buttermilk pancakes so I assume almond pancakes with almond milk can’t be much different!

Hard boiled eggs is a change of pace while still giving me the eggs I need. Either I can use the mayo in my fridge or I can make my own (there really isn’t much difference) and some spices and I have egg salad or deviled eggs.

I can make or use ketchup on my eggs, which would add some depth to the flavoring… or use salsa… All of these things can easily be homemade and they would then lack all the preservatives that come in the bottle from the store. Especially since summer is here, I’ll have a ton of tomatoes and pepper to make salsa.

In order to make the almond flour to make most of the things I want here, I need to buy slivered almonds. And lots of them. I also can’t make them until tomorrow since boyfriend has the food processor and I need to pulse the almonds until they make a finely ground meal. Then I’ll be able to jar it and put it in the freezer. Doing things this way is a lot better since it’ll be fresh and it’ll actually taste like almonds rather than dried and processed stuff.

To the grocery store!

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Primal and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at ashansen1015@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on June 20, 2012, in Paleo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

