Pain!

Well I haven’t posted lately and I’m not totally sure why.  It’s been a pretty busy week– when I wasn’t at Boyfriends’, I was at home packing so it’s been a lack of time on my part that stopped me from writing something up.

All week I ordered Jimmy Johns or Potbelly for delivery and I barely took the true time to eat it properly. I kept up my water and tried to ignore the massive carb cravings I had going on. I made it through Friday with virtually no working out other than lifting heavy boxes and pacing the living room. I was still hurting and sore after all the packing so I didn’t want to push it further.

I was pretty excited for Saturday: moving day. I signed up for my second Intro CrossFit class and I also enrolled in the Elements class. Paleo is now getting easier and I’m managing to get food in orders a lot easier as well.

Saturday morning I woke up early and made breakfast of eggs and bacon. Stupidly, I ran out of fruit so I had none, but there was onion and green pepper in the eggs, so I thought it was OK. I got ready for class and headed out.

I’m not sure if I just hadn’t had enough water before the class or whatnot but, after the 400 meter run (ugh. My cardio skills blow) and the rest of our warm up, we started a minute of jumping rope. After the third jump I felt a serious pinch in my right calf and it hurt to put weight on it. I grabbed my water bottle and powered half of it down and started massaging the pain.

We push pressed as our lift for the day and then we started the WOD: AMRAP 10 Thrusters, 10 Box Jumps and 10 Push Presses in 10 minutes.

The box jump always freaks me out. Something about possibly missing the box and skinning my leg doesn’t make them all that appealing. The box, turned onto its shorter side, made it about three inches higher than the parallel of my leg. I stepped up as  the modification. My calf was screaming at me the entire time but I powered through it and finished 30 Thrusters (HATE), 30 Box jumps and 20 push presses at 35/25 lbs.

I hurt pretty bad after the class and I hobbled off to my car, called Mom to tell her to bring an ice pack to the apartment and I’d meet her there in about an hour.

I went to Walgreens and got some Vita Coco coconut water and FRS for later. The coconut water has more natural elecrolytes and protein than most energy drinks so they help prevent cramping. I thought they’d help with the leg, if it really was a cramp. The FRS is a perfect protein drink that acts like Gatorate but has way less processed sugars.

I met Mom at the apartment, paid first rent and got acquainted with the place I’ll be living in for the next 15 months. I brought up some laundry to the set (YES!) and we went to get the UHAUL van.

I had done a pretty good job of packing but my calf prevented me from doing all the heavy lifting and stair navigating so we moved boxes and such in shifts and we took many breaks before the ex roomie showed up. The most epic fight ensued and I soon turned into the Hulk picking up boxes at lightning speed to keep my entire body from shaking with adrenaline.

The boxes were all packed into the van and some other random stuff was put in Mom’s SUV. We went to the apartment where Boyfriend was there to give me a big hug and soothe me from the trauma that was dealing with the idiot ex roomie.

Boyfriend and I unloaded the van in shifts moving to the bottom of the first set of stairs then moving it all upstairs. His friends showed up just after we had the van emptied so they could help move the heavy stuff. Mom stayed behind and sorted, did laundry/dishes, filled the kitchen, while the four of us left to the house for the next round.

The house had been touched in the meantime. It appeared that roomie was cleaning up while I was moving up, moving my couch and putting things in my room that weren’t actually mine. She seemed to have been staking the place out. We filled the van with half of the big stuff but still had some things left that wouldn’t fit in the van. Much more heavy lifting was going on by all of us.

The couch, dresser, cedar chest, antique sewing table etc. made it to the apartment and we turned around right away to get the bed and a bookshelf. Ex Roomie had been there again. We passively opened up every drawer and cabinet and touched her furniture. No big damage. Just enough to leave one last ‘fuck you’ behind. I locked the door and left the keys in the lock.

Everything was in its general place and the van needed to be sent back. I was sweaty, stinky, sore and sleepy so Mom went home and the four of us went to dinner on me. A 6 oz. steak, a side of shrimp and double steamed veg were just the trick to lift my mood. I was so hungry and the day was so exhausting that I almost wished I hadn’t gone to CrossFit that morning, though I knew it was good that I did. I had a glass of Moscato, knowing that I had done very well and I needed the soothing fruity feeling seeping into my stomach.

We returned to the apartment after dinner, I grabbed a change of clothes and we went to Boyfriends so I could avoid having to wash a ton of things in order to sleep in my bed that night. It would have been 11 p.m. at the earliest had we stayed there.

I showered as soon as we got to Boyfriends and, by the time I got out, he was asleep. I slept so well that night but woke up to find that every single muscle in my body was so angry with me. I could barely walk from the bed to the bathroom and sitting down proved to be much harder than it should be. The calf still bothered so I knew it wasn’t a cramp, but a genuine pull. Oh bother.

We had a great, protein packed breakfast and I felt better after, though the slight limp to avoid the calf was making me feel lopsided. I went to Mom’s, hung out with the kittens and we went shopping for stuff I was missing in the apartment.

We found a TV stand for $30, but the six pieces of MDF proved to be about 50 lbs. Putting it into the cart proved to be challenging, moving from the cart to the conveyor belt, belt to the cart then cart to the car was also challenging. We saved it for second to last to get it up stairs and I told Mom she’d have to run to the doors because I was going to move fast. A few deep breaths, a dip of the knees and I used my hips to drive the box above my head. I didn’t even feel the sting in my calf as I ascended the stairs and paid attention to my breathing as Mom opened the doors. A bend in the knees and it was on the floor against the wall. I then collapsed in the couch and didn’t move for a good 20 minutes. I drank water religiously. I’m almost positive it was a PR of some sort.

Boyfriend came over and brought up the club chair Mom bought me as a housewarming present. I washed the bedding and kept unpacking. The pots and pans are brand new and beautiful and they were pretty darn heavy to get up the stairs as well. He assembled it while the Cable Guy gave me Internet and Cable. Yay!

Sunday I didn’t want to cook and I didn’t have anything TO cook so we went out and had steaks again. I needed eggs for breakfasts so we went to the store. We got everything except for the eggs. We had Greek yogurt(full fat!)  with larabar crumbles and sliced strawberries for breakfast instead. It was absolutely delicious.

I need a couple extra lamps and a bath rug and a sleeve for plastic bags and maybe a new or another bookshelf, but other than that the apartment is essentially done. I just need to unpack everything.

Tonight I have my first Essentials class. My calf, arms, abs and right hamstring still twinge every now and then. I’ve been pounding down the water in the hopes that my muscles will be OK with the workout. More on that later.

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on June 4, 2012, in CrossFit, Heavy Lifting, Paleo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

