Laser Tag

While not really an effective mode of workout, I’m going to go on the basis that I sweat like crazy and I was working a lot of the muscles I had worked the day before in the WOD.

Boyfriend and I met up with our DND friends for an afternoon of laser tag in Milwaukee on Sunday. This particular place featured 5 lb guns that you had to keep held up the entire time, my arm kills, let me tell you. I suppose this is a nice change of pace from the sitting down for six hours that we’ll be doing tonight at DND.

I also did a lot of crouching, monkey swinging from stairs, climbing stairs, and power walking my way back to the other side of the space to ‘respawn’ after I had been killed for  the thousandth time.

Needless to say, I haven’t really had a day off from working out in five days. The general rule for CrossFit is 3 on, 1 off. Wednesday through Sunday I worked up a sweat. Today, Monday, is my day off. I’m taking it very easy and, while I want to go outside for a run and do some squats and such, it’s almost 90 degrees and I don’t think my body really wants to work in that heat. I’ll make up for it tomorrow.

So anyway, laser tag. We couldn’t run or walk quickly. This proved to be extremely effective at burning my quads and hamstrings and I took the defensive ‘crouch’ position most of the game. My calves burned up, my back was tight and my glutes were getting a workout too with every squat I made.

My arms still hurt at the shoulder where the gun rested and where I held it up. My fingers were cramped shortly after finishing from holding onto the gun without supporting it very well, meaning my hands took the brunt of the weight.

It was a really quick and really fun hour and a half, regardless, and we treated ourselves with Qdoba. I had a hard time ordering because I usually get the grilled chicken tacos, but I can’t eat the sour cream and cheese or the tortilla so I settled on a naked burrito, no beans or rice, no cheese or sour cream but with guacamole, extra veggies and extra lettuce, and the verde sauce. The sauce saved it. I wasn’t satisfied though so while boyfriend got food elsewhere, I headed back to his place and waited for the door to open so I could dive into the fridge for a larabar. It did the trick and I wasn’t hungry until late today.

So let’s just call today a wash. It’s hot, I spent a lot of time sweating just because of the general heat outside and I’m going to take a nice relaxing shower. Happy Memorial day, everyone. Please take some time to send happy vibes to the Soldiers, Marines, Seamen and Guardsmen fighting for our freedom. If you believe in it, please pray that they come home safely and soon. If we get the time to do it, Boyfriend and I will be doing Murph this week. I’ll let you all know about that once it happens!

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on May 28, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

