A New Adventure

Last weekend I attended the CrossFit regionals with the Boyfriend. He’s been a CrossFit-er for a while and he wanted me to come along with him to see the abundance of strength and experience the community that is CrossFit.

I saw women lift hundreds of pounds above their heads with ease. These women had abs. They had the arms I’ve always wanted but no amount of push ups would get them there. Women and men were breaking world records, they were doing things in 25 minutes that I never thought possible. It was completely inspiring.

All weekend a food truck was stationed just outside the expo center for the games. The Paleo Wagon was an easy choice for us when it came down to Paleo or Concession stand food. We waited in line and got a perfectly rounded Paleo meal: Bed of greens, guacamole, broccoli and tomatoes, ground beef or chicken and sausage. I was so full but energized after eating this meal and it sustained us well into the afternoon. I didn’t think about it until much later when we had talked more about Paleo.

Boyfriend was already on the Paleo track for the most part but I was stubborn and kept to my ways: I liked yogurt. And granola. Hell, I loved cheese. I’m a Wisconsin girl. I didn’t think I had the strength of will to give those things up.

Then I went a weekend without it; and I didn’t really miss it.

Tuesday, May 23 was my first full Paleo day. I started doing squats to prepare the basis of lifting for CrossFit and I signed up for my first CrossFit intro class at Badger Crossfit for this Saturday. Tomorrow.

I figured blogging would be the best way to keep track of what was happening with me and my progress, so I plan to come up with recipes, pictures and everything needed to make this blog something interesting.

The first 30-45 days are the hardest. Let’s get through this together.

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a freelance writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search KnitEatLift and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

