One of Those Paleans

There are a few things that make me a bit weird when it comes to eating paleo.

1.) I suck at eating out. I tip really well when it comes to making the wait staff work to get my order just right. I also usually have to tell people ‘I can’t eat there’ so we have to find other places (read, more expensive) to find food.

2.) I have a tendency to get creative on occasion. Stuff I’ve never made before doesn’t scare me nearly as much as it used to.

3.) I like to proclaim to people that the brownie you just ate and loved was actually made with Sweet Potatoes. And it’s gluten, dairy and sugar free. So there.

4.) I no longer can properly process gluten and especially dairy. It’s not a pretty picture and I have to impress on people how much I cannot cheat if they want to see me in an hour.

5.) If I taste something Paleo and I want to taste it again but not for the price I just paid for it, I will find it elsewhere.

So that brings us to the last three meals I’ve had.

Last night the Urban Caveman Food Truck came to Badger CrossFit and I was elated they brought Truckasaurus out of hibernation and were back on the food-prowl. Boyfriend was finally over his viral plague, so I told him to get something and we would have some awesomeness for supper. He got the cashew chicken curry and I got a chicken salad wrap and their texas style pulled pork with sweet potato mash.

Now, I adore both of the things I got. To the point where I was doing some online searching to try and find the recipe for the chicken salad; of which I may have found one. I’ve been eating chicken systematically throughout the week, so I’ll refrain from making it this week but next week is another matter!

I like the pulled pork but I feel like, if I had the recipe, I’d likely never make it unless I really wanted to. I like that the pork is a little prize for myself after a hard day. It’s so warming and lovely.

Today was another fun one. Boyfriend and I woke up at our normal time (Read, me up a half hour after him because I suck at waking up) and he heated up some Cranberry Orange Buttermilk muffins he’s completely obsessed with. Like completely. Like he told me he would have them for breakfast every day for the rest of his life forever and ever amen. So I keep making them and I make them in double batches so I get 24 muffins out of the recipe.

I went to work with two chicken breasts with the plans to eat them with some thousand island as a dip and some carrots. It’s not amazingly paleo but it works. But then an email came through at about 11 saying that a soup food truck would be outside today. Simmer is made out of an old short-bus and it’s adorable. The smells coming out of this bus were fantastic and I could have sat in there all afternoon just soaking in all the smells. They cater to a vegan/gluten free crowd, which made me a little apprehensive, but I was very happy to see a Brussels Sprouts and Rosemary soup. A few of my coworkers came with me and we became snow-covered quickly in the fat snowflakes falling at speed to the ground. I double checked with the woman in the truck and she told me essentially everything that went into the recipe. When I was satisfied that it was sufficiently Paleo, I got a 16-oz container. While it helped keep my fingers warm I could smell the deliciousness as I was walking back to the office.

The taste is phenomenal. It’s based with a vegetable stock and it’s blended so it’s not like eating giant sprouts and cauliflower florets. It’s not too salty and it has a very well-rounded flavor, though I did feel the rosemary overpowered it at times. I was so happy with the flavors that I did some digging and I found the soup! I was a little happy to say the least, and I have intentions to make this for me and boyfriend this weekend. It’s expected to be cold and snowy this weekend, so it’ll be perfect.

On another note: I have my first day off this weekend. I think my WOD will be to clean all the things for time.

Stay warm, all!

About Amanda

I knit only when I'm not drinking coffee, sleeping or lifting heaving things and putting them back down. I'm a proposal writer and I adore my job. I don't write about this, though I do and am obsessed with CrossFit. I eat Paleo and love cooking. I write about both of these things. I greatly appreciate your feedback and comments! If you like what you've seen in my blogs, please feel free to message me here or on Ravelry, or e-mail me at asthrom@gmail.com. I have patterns for sale! Go to Ravelry and search OnSkeinsandNeedles and you'll find my patterns. The store is always growing and soon will have more patterns to purchase. I hope you enjoy them.

Posted on January 16, 2014, in Paleo, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 510 other followers

